Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Elli Elliott

Dr. Susan M. Elliott, Ph.D.

Writer & Speaker

Alternative Christian Visions:

The Shepherd of Hermas

If you have not heard of this text, you are not alone!

It’s worth getting acquainted with this unusual writing, though.

 

This little-known book is chock full of intriguing visions and themes that relate to women, family, community, and rich and poor. In the earliest centuries of the Christian era, Hermas was an early writing circulated and accepted widely.

 

Our discussions will explore some intriguing and exceptional passages worth considering for what they tell us about early Jesus followers and for reflections in our own time.

Session 1          October 7th            Overview slide presentation on Shepherd of Hermas

                                                           Hermas Helps Rhoda Up from Her Bath

                                                           Elm and Vine

 

Session 2          October 14th         A Slave Inherits with a Son

                                                          The Beast and the Beauty

 

Session 3         October 21st          Two Cities

                                                          Two Visions of the Tower

In-person discussions will be held from 1:30-3:00pm at the Red Lodge Community Church, 308 S. Broadway, Red Lodge Montana

Zoom discussions will be held online

6:00-7:30 pm Mountain Time

5:00-6:30 pm Pacific 7:00-8:30 pm Central 8:00-9:30pm Eastern

For a half hour podcast interview with Shirley Paulson of Early Christian Texts: The Bible and Beyond, use this link: Shepherd of Hermas: Ancient and Modern Respect for the Poor

Thanks to everyone who participated!